Janet’s Journey – Part 4

Janet is an RECE in Windsor-Essex and a participant in the WERECE Mentorship Program. Follow Janet as she documents her experiences as a mentor and co-learner.

Thursday October 6, 2022, Visit to my mentee’s workplace. This truly is a long entry, but it was a unique yet refreshing, perspective on daycare life.

We decided to meet out front at 8:25 am. I was there early 8:15 am as I was extremely excited, did not want to be late (pressure of being a positive role model), had lots of nervous but positive energy, was uncertain about traffic, and parking too. I was surprised there was no parking lot but easily found an open spot on the road in front. My first impression was it did not look that big (that view changed upon entry, space well used), but there were plants and huge sunflowers poking out of the fence that made me smile, and it was a perfect spot for families in the downtown area to easily access. We met outside and I eagerly entered, and we quickly exchanged roles as I was now the mentee. She confidently and proudly led me around from downstairs to upstairs. I must admit I was truly in awe of her workplace knowledge. So many offices and opportunities for parents to explore and learn (with and without their child), and so many educated professional staff that were happy to help and so kindly and eagerly greeted me. Honestly, I did not know these centres offered so much outside dropping by with your child. Thinking back to when my children were preschool age, many years ago, I often visited the drop-in center at St. Clair College. A wonderful experience but my how times have changed! 🙂 To me on the tour the play yard was the highlight, so many different textured terrains in a small area. Peaceful waterfalls, plants growing indoors or outside, a larger area than what I expected, very multi-cultural with canoes and a huge teepee to explore. A peaceful place that offered lots of opportunities to investigate. Very welcoming. 😊

Back inside I thought I must admit so many staff available and no children yet. Wonderful to have lots of preparation time prior to their arrival though. 🙂 Totally different atmosphere then what I am accustomed to. It all certainly provided a unique perspective on daycare life with my world and Early On, both ultimately desiring the same goal of connecting with parents and children and providing the best care possible, but different challenges too. I currently work with 10 infants (love it) with two assistants (wonderful people should go back and become RECE’s), prep time is minimal, we plan our start time based on the children’s arrival time, (ratios observed), and we have 10 babies between three people unlike the close to one on one Early On has at least on this day (multiple age groups though). We have no assigned ending shifts as we leave when we fall within the Ministry guidelines (could be 6 hours or 10, whenever numbers drop). Planned activities daily based on interests with photos and write up and reflections, logging all the days events (snack, diapering, sleep etc.) on Hi Mama, all within our workday. I do not mean to sound negative as I love it, and that one-on-one time I observed today was phenomenal and I am sure their documentation is equally difficult. My mentor was so confident and greeted the child she was assigned that day with great enthusiasm but also offered focus on others too. I do love the one-on-one time they explored and constant attention but do feel children learn through their own exploration, noting of course immediate needs being met, in my mind no need for a constant narrative, sometimes silence is golden. In our room, we do try to sit back and watch and wait for their approach or inquisitive looks, of course we have for the most part the same children daily, and I could not imagine different children and parents every day. Certainly, challenging for staff. Also, we tend to be more perhaps relaxed and sarcastic at times which helps us get through the day. Early On must be on their alert constantly with parents stopping in at any time. Their circle time was wonderful very relaxed and familiar songs used so all the children felt comfortable and very attentive. No one was ever rushed at drop off or pick up; very chilled atmosphere. It was a truly rewarding experience Look forward to visiting again on another day as the programs they offer varies. 🙂

Note:  Would love to have some of the equipment they have like the movable pressure activated, sensory tactile placemats on the floor, as well as the long tower of bubbles with colour changing and movable aquatic creatures (must be seen to appreciated). Loved the addition of binoculars and magnifying glasses.

 On a mentor/mentee level love to see the eagerness she continues to share but not overconfident; very hard working, will ask for guidance when needed. Great exchanges between mentor and mentee, or mentee and mentor, love the connection we have, some personal and confidential (never to be shared), some strictly professional, never a dull moment. 😊

 To be continued…

Leave a comment